A skin booster you apply
set side by side with skin-booster procedures
Spicule is a cosmetic ingredient that is applied and massaged onto the skin, not injected. The two tables below place nine skin-booster procedures and spicule side by side in six questions customers ask first and seven evidence columns. Cells with a source carry the number of its paper, official source or news report, and cells without a source are marked “Not verified”.
What is a skin booster procedure?
“Injectable skin-booster procedure” is an umbrella term for procedures that inject small amounts into, or puncture, the dermis; the ingredients and the Korean regulatory classification differ by product.
This page summarizes published papers and news reports for information only. It is not a recommendation for any procedure and is not medical advice. Please consult a medical professional at a medical institution about any procedure.
[n] after a figure refers to the References below. “Trial protocol” is the method used in that study and may differ by product or practitioner. “Not verified” means this review found no supporting source.
Needle, recovery, practitioner — the six columns customers ask about first
The same ten rows (nine procedures and spicule), reorganized into the six columns customers ask about first. Cells with a source carry its number, and cells without a source are left as “Not verified”. Costs vary by clinic, so no amounts are given.
PN (polynucleotide) class
- Needle · pain
- Intradermal injection [1]
- Recovery time
- Not verified
- Who performs it
- Not verified
- Sessions · cost
- Trial protocol: 3 sessions at 2-week intervals [2][3] · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Not verified
- Sources
- [1][2][3]
PN + HA combination class
- Needle · pain
- Subcutaneous injection · contains lidocaine (approved wording, as reported) [11]
- Recovery time
- Not verified
- Who performs it
- Not verified
- Sessions · cost
- Not verified · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Not verified
- Sources
- [11]
PDLLA class
- Needle · pain
- 32G needle injection · pain VAS 6.18 intradermal, 3.85 subdermal [5] · injection pain reported during repeated sessions [24] · needle-free microjet delivery study [6]
- Recovery time
- Downtime reported as “minimal”, not quantified [5]
- Who performs it
- Not verified
- Sessions · cost
- 5 sessions in the needle-free delivery study [6] · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Not verified
- Sources
- [5][6][24]
PLLA class
- Needle · pain
- Injection (lidocaine mixed into the reconstitution fluid, trial protocol) [7]
- Recovery time
- Injection-site bruising 5.0%, nodules 0.2% (observation of 498 non-facial patients) [32]
- Who performs it
- US FDA filler guidance: recommends receiving it from a licensed health care provider experienced in dermatology or plastic surgery [33]
- Sessions · cost
- Initial session + up to 3 more at monthly intervals (trial protocol) [7] · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Not verified
- Sources
- [7][32][33]
High/low molecular weight HA complex class
- Needle · pain
- Injection [19]
- Recovery time
- Adverse events mild, usually resolved within 72 hours [8]
- Who performs it
- Not verified
- Sessions · cost
- 2 sessions at weeks 0 and 4 (trial protocol) [9] · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Not verified
- Sources
- [8][9][19]
HA skin booster class
- Needle · pain
- Injection [10] · ear procedure pain VAS 2.4 (30 patients, combined with filler) [25]
- Recovery time
- Swelling 15%, bruising 10% (30 patients, combined with filler) [25] · “mild, resolved within a few days” (81 patients) [27]
- Who performs it
- US FDA filler guidance: recommends an experienced licensed health care provider [33] · separate guidance for skin boosters not verified
- Sessions · cost
- 3 sessions at 3-week intervals (trial protocol) [27] · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Trial combined with laser [26]
- Sources
- [10][25][26][27][33]
Exosome class
- Needle · pain
- Ultrasound-assisted transdermal delivery (not an injection) [14] · trial combined with needling radiofrequency [20]
- Recovery time
- Not verified
- Who performs it
- Not verified
- Sessions · cost
- 3 sessions at 2-week intervals (trial protocol) [14] · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Split-face trial combined with needling radiofrequency [20]
- Sources
- [14][20]
PDRN class (polydeoxyribonucleotide)
- Needle · pain
- Intradermal injection [16]
- Recovery time
- Not verified
- Who performs it
- Not verified
- Sessions · cost
- 3 sessions [16] · interval not verified · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Not verified
- Sources
- [16]
Microneedling
- Needle · pain
- Skin puncture with a needle-mounted device [17]
- Recovery time
- Not verified
- Who performs it
- Not verified
- Sessions · cost
- Not verified · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- Not verified
- Combined with other procedures
- Used with topical products or radiofrequency [17]
- Sources
- [17]
Spicule (UNIZ LAB cosmetic ingredient · applied topically)
- Needle · pain
- No needle — a cosmetic ingredient applied and rubbed onto the skin (UNIZ LAB ingredient definition)
- Recovery time
- Not verified
- Who performs it
- News reports that it is used in professional facial treatments at aesthetic salons [35][36][37]
- Sessions · cost
- Not verified · Cost varies by clinic
- Use at home
- News reports that it is used in cosmetic forms such as serums and ampoules [35][37]
- Combined with other procedures
- Not verified
- Sources
- [35][36][37]
Nine procedures and spicule, in the same columns
PN (polynucleotide) class
- Main ingredient
- Purified polynucleotides (derived from salmon sperm DNA) [1]
- Method · depth
- Intradermal injection [1] · depth (mm) not verified
- Sessions
- Randomized trial protocol: 3 sessions at 2-week intervals [2][3]
- Adverse events · downtime
- Not verified
- Duration (follow-up)
- FACE-Q improvement observed up to 6 months, greatest at 3 months after 2 sessions (uncontrolled observation, 42 patients) [1]
- Evidence design
- Randomized split-face, 72 [2] and 27 participants [3] / uncontrolled observation, 42 patients [1]
- Korean classification
- Not verified (MFDS database not checked)
- Sources
- [1][2][3]
PN + HA combination class
- Main ingredient
- PN + hyaluronic acid + lidocaine [11]
- Method · depth
- Subcutaneous injection (approved wording, as reported) [11] · depth not verified
- Sessions
- Not verified
- Adverse events · downtime
- Not verified
- Duration (follow-up)
- Not verified
- Evidence design
- Not verified (product-level clinical trials were not reviewed)
- Korean classification
- Not verified (domestic approval reported [11] · MFDS database not checked)
- Sources
- [11]
PDLLA class
- Main ingredient
- PDLLA microparticles + hyaluronic acid [4]
- Method · depth
- Injection (intradermal vs subdermal compared, 32G needle) [5] · needle-free microjet delivery also studied [6]
- Sessions
- 5 sessions in the needle-free delivery study [6] · interval not verified
- Adverse events · downtime
- Downtime reported as “minimal”, not quantified [5] · case report of lower-eyelid granuloma complications [18]
- Duration (follow-up)
- GAIS improvement reported at 24-week follow-up (uncontrolled, 40 patients) [6]
- Evidence design
- Small uncontrolled study, 40 patients [6] · randomized split-injection, 21 participants [5] · complication case report [18]
- Korean classification
- Not verified (medical device approval reported [12] · MFDS database not checked)
- Sources
- [4][5][6][12][18]
PLLA class
- Main ingredient
- Poly-L-lactic acid (PLLA-SCA) [7]
- Method · depth
- Injection (8 mL reconstitution + 1 mL of 2% lidocaine, trial protocol) [7] · depth not verified
- Sessions
- Initial session + up to 3 more at monthly intervals (trial protocol) [7]
- Adverse events · downtime
- Not verified
- Duration (follow-up)
- Responder rate at 12-month follow-up 71.6% vs 26.1% untreated (response criterion of the cheek-wrinkle trial) [7]
- Evidence design
- Randomized 2:1 trial vs no-treatment control (cheek wrinkles) [7]
- Korean classification
- Not verified
- Sources
- [7]
High/low molecular weight HA complex class
- Main ingredient
- Hybrid cooperative complex of high- and low-molecular-weight hyaluronic acid [8]
- Method · depth
- Injection [19] · depth not verified
- Sessions
- 2 sessions at weeks 0 and 4, follow-up at week 12 (30 Chinese women) [9]
- Adverse events · downtime
- Adverse events mild, usually resolved within 72 hours [8]
- Duration (follow-up)
- 12-week follow-up [9]
- Evidence design
- Systematic review, 9 studies, 278 participants [8]
- Korean classification
- Not verified
- Sources
- [8][9][19]
HA skin booster class
- Main ingredient
- Injectable hyaluronic acid (concentration and cross-linking by product not verified) [10]
- Method · depth
- Injection [10] · depth not verified
- Sessions
- Not verified
- Adverse events · downtime
- Not verified
- Duration (follow-up)
- Not verified
- Evidence design
- Systematic review: 13 of 2,996 records included; large randomized trials needed [10]
- Korean classification
- Not verified
- Sources
- [10]
Exosome class
- Main ingredient
- Stem cell-derived and plant-derived exosomes [13]
- Method · depth
- Ultrasound-assisted transdermal delivery trial [14] · a trial combined with needling radiofrequency also exists [20] · depth not verified
- Sessions
- 3 sessions at 2-week intervals (trial protocol) [14]
- Adverse events · downtime
- Not verified
- Duration (follow-up)
- 8-week follow-up [14]
- Evidence design
- Randomized split-face, 16 participants [14]
- Korean classification
- Not verified (2022 news report [15] · current MFDS criteria not verified) · US FDA safety notification: no approved exosome products [34]
- Sources
- [13][14][15][20][34]
PDRN class (polydeoxyribonucleotide)
- Main ingredient
- Deoxyribonucleotide polymer [16]
- Method · depth
- Intradermal injection (clinical test, 6 patients, 3 sessions) [16] · depth not verified
- Sessions
- 3 sessions [16] · interval not verified
- Adverse events · downtime
- Not verified
- Duration (follow-up)
- Not verified
- Evidence design
- Small clinical test, 6 patients [16]
- Korean classification
- Not verified
- Sources
- [16]
Microneedling
- Main ingredient
- Not applicable (device-based procedure) [17]
- Method · depth
- Skin puncture with a needle-mounted device (alone or with topical products or radiofrequency) [17] · depth not verified
- Sessions
- Not verified
- Adverse events · downtime
- Not verified
- Duration (follow-up)
- Not verified
- Evidence design
- Systematic review; methodological limitations, further research needed [17]
- Korean classification
- Not verified
- Sources
- [17]
Spicule (UNIZ LAB cosmetic ingredient · applied topically)
- Main ingredient
- Freshwater sponge-derived silica spicules (UNIZ LAB ingredient definition)
- Method · depth
- Cosmetic ingredient applied and rubbed onto the skin (not injected) · depth not verified
- Sessions
- Not verified
- Adverse events · downtime
- Not verified
- Duration (follow-up)
- Not verified
- Evidence design
- Dermal absorption of the model ingredient (pectolinarin) 73.4% — porcine skin, Franz diffusion cell, in vitro, liposome-loaded [21] · skin retention reported in an animal model [22] · microchannels 16,000/cm² (UNIZ LAB R&D in-house measurement) [23] · human studies are listed below in the “List of human studies” (combined formulations)
- Korean classification
- Cosmetic ingredient (UNIZ LAB product definition) · MFDS database not verified
- Sources
- [21][22][23]
Spicule is a cosmetic ingredient that is applied, not injected
Spicules are freshwater sponge-derived silica spicules, used by applying and rubbing them onto the skin rather than by injection. News reports say they are also used in professional facial treatments at aesthetic salons [35][36][37]. The figures in the spicule row were measured under test conditions (in vitro, animal model, in-house measurement), not in human clinical trials.
List of human studies using spicules
Human studies in which spicules were used together with other ingredients, collected as bibliographic entries only. All are combined formulations, so none measures the effect of spicules alone, and result figures are not shown. The sponge species in these studies may differ from that of the UNIZ LAB ingredient (freshwater sponge).
Facial skin study using spicules with a stem cell-conditioned secretome
Single-arm human trialParticipant number not stated in abstractMarine sponge (species not stated)Combined formulation[38]
Study on acne-prone skin using spicules with an antimicrobial peptide
Human clinical studyParticipant number not stated in abstractMarine sponge HaliclonaCombined formulation[39]
Post-chemotherapy scalp study using spicules with goat placenta extract and liposomes
Human clinical studyParticipant number not stated in abstractSponge species not stated in abstractCombined formulation[40]
Thigh skin study using spicules with a panduratin A serum
Human clinical studyParticipant number not stated in abstractSponge species not stated in abstractCombined formulation[41]
Scalp study using spicules with deer antler extract niosomes
Human clinical studyParticipant number not stated in abstractSponge species not stated in abstractCombined formulation[42]
Skin study using spicules with a deer antler extract cream
Human clinical studyParticipant number not stated in abstractSponge species not stated in abstractCombined formulation[43]
Preliminary topical anesthesia study using spicules with lidocaine
Pilot human studyParticipant number not stated in abstractMarine sponge HaliclonaCombined formulation[44]
Skin booster procedure comparison — FAQ
How do skin booster procedures differ?
They differ in ingredient class (PN, PDLLA, PLLA, HA, exosomes and others), procedure method (intradermal or subcutaneous injection and others), the number of sessions used in trials, and evidence design (randomized trials, uncontrolled observation, literature reviews). The direct comparison trials this page identified compare PN with HA fillers [2][3].
Are PN and PDRN the same?
Both papers describe nucleotide-type substances derived from DNA (PN: purified polynucleotides [1]; PDRN: deoxyribonucleotide polymer [16]). Notation and use differ across the literature, so this page does not state that they are either the same or different products, and the Korean classification is not verified.
Are exosome skin boosters MFDS-approved products?
This review could not verify the Korean classification of exosome skin boosters from MFDS sources. A 2022 news report exists [15], but current criteria may differ, so please check official MFDS information directly.
How strong is the evidence for these procedures?
The evidence designs differ: a randomized controlled trial for PLLA [7]; randomized split-face trials for PN [2][3] and exosomes [14]; small uncontrolled studies for PDLLA [6] and PDRN [16]; and literature reviews for HA [10], high/low molecular weight HA complexes [8] and microneedling [17]. Because participant numbers and designs differ, this page does not rank them.
Is spicule a skin booster procedure?
Spicule is a cosmetic ingredient, not an injectable; it is applied and rubbed onto the skin rather than injected. News reports say it is also used in professional facial treatments at aesthetic salons [35][36][37]. The 73.4% dermal absorption in the table was measured for a model ingredient (pectolinarin) on porcine skin in a Franz diffusion cell, in vitro, liposome-loaded, and is not a human clinical result [21]. Human studies in which spicules were used together with other ingredients are collected as bibliographic entries in the “List of human studies” below.
References
News reports (11, 12, 15) describe what was reported and are not official MFDS approval information.
- [1]Ziade, et al. Prospective Observational Study of Polynucleotide Injections for Periorbital Rhytides. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2026;25(2):e70736. PMID 41689167. doi:10.1111/jocd.70736
- [2]Pak, et al. A phase III, randomized, double-blind, matched-pairs, active-controlled clinical trial and preclinical animal study to compare the durability, efficacy and safety between polynucleotide filler and hyaluronic acid filler in the correction of crow's feet: a new concept of regenerative filler. J Korean Med Sci. 2014;29 Suppl 3:S201-9. PMID 25473210. doi:10.3346/jkms.2014.29.S3.S201
- [3]Lee, et al. Comparison of the effects of polynucleotide and hyaluronic acid fillers on periocular rejuvenation: a randomized, double-blind, split-face trial. J Dermatolog Treat. 2020;33(1):254-260. PMID 32248707. doi:10.1080/09546634.2020.1748857
- [4]Young, Lau. Hybrid Biostimulator and Hyaluronic Acid Injectable for Tear Trough Rejuvenation. Aesthetic Plast Surg. 2026;50(13):5337-5343. PMID 42098500. doi:10.1007/s00266-026-05817-z
- [5]Yi, et al. Comparative Pain Assessment of Intradermal Versus Subdermal Skin Booster Injections Using PDLLA: A Randomized, Double-Blinded Split-Injection Study. Aesthetic Plast Surg. 2026;50(11):4212-4217. PMID 41501430. doi:10.1007/s00266-025-05596-z
- [6]Seo, et al. The Effective Delivery of Poly(D,L-lactic Acid) (Juvelook) via Needle-Free Injection (CUREJET) for Facial Rejuvenation. Aesthetic Plast Surg. 2025;50(9):3382-3388. PMID 41389157. doi:10.1007/s00266-025-05434-2
- [7]Fabi, et al. Effectiveness and Safety of Sculptra Poly-L-Lactic Acid Injectable Implant in the Correction of Cheek Wrinkles. J Drugs Dermatol. 2024;23(1):1297-1305. PMID 38206151. doi:10.36849/JDD.7729
- [8]Sparavigna, et al. A Systematic Review of the Efficacy and Safety of Profhilo and Profhilo Body. Plast Aesthet Nurs (Phila). 2026;46(2):80-92. PMID 41920062. doi:10.1097/PSN.0000000000000637
- [9]Cheng, et al. Efficacy and Tolerability of Stable Hybrid Cooperative Complexes of High- and Low-Molecular Weight Hyaluronic Acid in Asian Patients: An Open-Label Study. Aesthetic Plast Surg. 2025;50(1):27-36. PMID 40921777. doi:10.1007/s00266-025-05188-x
- [10]Ghatge, Ghatge. The Effectiveness of Injectable Hyaluronic Acid in the Improvement of the Facial Skin Quality: A Systematic Review. Clin Cosmet Investig Dermatol. 2023;16:891-899. PMID 37038447. doi:10.2147/CCID.S404248
- [11]Dailypharm (news report, Korean) — Rejuran HB Plus. Article
- [12]Medical Times (news report, Korean) — Juvelook approval. Article
- [13]Wang, et al. Stem cell-derived and plant-derived exosomes: Promising therapeutics for skin healing and regeneration. Mol Cell Probes. 2026;86:102064. PMID 41655911. doi:10.1016/j.mcp.2026.102064
- [14]Choi, et al. Adipose tissue-derived stem cell exosomes enhance skin barrier function and show exploratory associations with the skin mycobiome in aging skin. J Microbiol. 2026;64(6):e2603020. PMID 42403177. doi:10.71150/jm.2603020
- [15]Dailypharm (news report, Korean, 2022) — exosome cosmetics and MFDS oversight. Article
- [16]Noh, et al. Novel Anti-Melanogenesis Properties of Polydeoxyribonucleotide, a Popular Wound Healing Booster. Int J Mol Sci. 2016;17(9):1448. PMID 27598132. doi:10.3390/ijms17091448
- [17]Ramaut, et al. Microneedling: Where do we stand now? A systematic review of the literature. J Plast Reconstr Aesthet Surg. 2017;71(1):1-14. PMID 28690124. doi:10.1016/j.bjps.2017.06.006
- [18]Garlaschi, et al. Complex Surgical Management of PDLLA-Induced Lower Eyelid Granulomas. J Craniofac Surg. 2026. PMID 42043184. doi:10.1097/SCS.0000000000012811
- [19]Forte, et al. Profhilo Structura, Current Status and Future Perspectives: A Practical Review. Plast Aesthet Nurs (Phila). 2024;44(3):213-219. PMID 39028477. doi:10.1097/PSN.0000000000000571
- [20]Huang, et al. Preliminary Insights From a Split-Face Study on Skin Quality Changes After Needling Radiofrequency With or Without a Plant-Derived Exosome-Based Formulation Over 6 Months. Aesthet Surg J. 2026;46:S62-S72. PMID 41800727. doi:10.1093/asj/sjaf253
- [21]Kim, T. G., Lee, Y., Kim, M. S., & Lim, J. (2022). A novel dermal delivery system using natural spicules for cosmetics and therapeutics. Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 21(10), 4754–4764. PMID 35034416. doi:10.1111/jocd.14771
- [22]Zhang Y et al. (2017). Spicule retention in skin (animal model): >72h. Mol. Pharm.. doi:10.1021/acs.molpharmaceut.7b00569
- [23]UNIZ LAB R&D (2022). Microchannel density measurement of spicule-treated skin. in-house.
- [24]Yi, et al. Skin-Booster Injection on the Left and Right Sides: Which Side Is More Painful? Dermatol Surg. 2025;51(9):e52-e56. PMID 40309988. doi:10.1097/DSS.0000000000004670
- [25]Adel, Stankovic. Dual-plane Product Technique for Earlobe Rejuvenation: Apriline Hyaluronic Acid Filler and Apriline Skin Booster Injection. Plast Reconstr Surg Glob Open. 2025;13(11):e7294. PMID 41255743. doi:10.1097/GOX.0000000000007294
- [26]Bai. Hyaluronic acid-based skin booster with glutathione combined with 1064-nm Nd:YAG laser and oral tranexamic acid for melasma: A prospective comparative study. Medicine (Baltimore). 2026;105(42):e51212. PMID 42888572. doi:10.1097/MD.0000000000051212
- [27]Pino, et al. Clinical and Biometric Assessment of a Hyaluronic Acid-Based Skin Booster for Face, Neck and Décolleté Rejuvenation: A Prospective Study. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2025;24(11):e70547. PMID 41243364. doi:10.1111/jocd.70547
- [32]Durairaj, et al. Nonfacial Use of Injectable Poly-L-lactic Acid: Safety Data From a Multicenter Observational Study in the United States. Aesthet Surg J Open Forum. 2026;8:ojag053. PMID 42004285. doi:10.1093/asjof/ojag053
- [33]U.S. FDA (official page, English) — Dermal Fillers (Soft Tissue Fillers). Article
- [34]U.S. FDA (official safety notification, English, 2019-12-06) — Public Safety Notification on Exosome Products. Article
- [35]Prevention Australia (magazine, 2026-07-16) — spicule skincare article. Article
- [36]Vogue Scandinavia (magazine, 2025-12-12). The 8 biggest skincare trends for 2026, according to facialists. Article
- [37]ELLE Korea (magazine, Korean, 2026-05-31) — spicule serum article. Article
- [38]Lee, et al. Nano-Encapsulated Spicule System Enhances Delivery of Wharton's Jelly MSC Secretome and Promotes Skin Rejuvenation: Preclinical and Clinical Evaluation. Int J Mol Sci. 2025;26(20). PMID 41155317. doi:10.3390/ijms262010024
- [39]He, et al. The topical application of Sphistinin combination with sponge spicules for the acne treatment. Drug Deliv Transl Res. 2024;15(4):1411-1423. PMID 39107673. doi:10.1007/s13346-024-01687-7
- [40]Sanguanboonyaphong, et al. Novel Synergistic Approach for Bioactive Macromolecules: Evaluating the Efficacy of Goat Placenta Extract in PEGylated Liposomes and Microspicules for Chemotherapy-Induced Hair Loss. Pharmaceuticals (Basel). 2024;17(8):1084. PMID 39204189. doi:10.3390/ph17081084
- [41]Jitsaeng, et al. Potential Lipolytic Effect of Panduratin A Loaded Microspicule Serum as a Transdermal Delivery Approach for Subcutaneous Fat Reduction. Biol Pharm Bull. 2023;46(12):1761-1768. PMID 38044095. doi:10.1248/bpb.b23-00491
- [42]Tansathien, et al. Hair growth promoting effect of bioactive extract from deer antler velvet-loaded niosomes and microspicules serum. Int J Pharm. 2021;597:120352. PMID 33545292. doi:10.1016/j.ijpharm.2021.120352
- [43]Tansathien, et al. Development of Sponge Microspicule Cream as a Transdermal Delivery System for Protein and Growth Factors from Deer Antler Velvet Extract. Biol Pharm Bull. 2019;42(7):1207-1215. PMID 31257296. doi:10.1248/bpb.b19-00158
- [44]Zhang, et al. Topical delivery of Lidocaine using spicules for local anesthesia. Drug Deliv Transl Res. 2025;16(8):2846-2857. PMID 41402578. doi:10.1007/s13346-025-02030-4
SPICULE Raw Material B2B Inquiry
We welcome inquiries for SPICULE raw material supply from cosmetics manufacturers, dermatology clinics, and aesthetic professionals.